Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

2018-2019 Niblack Research Scholars

Oklahoma State University has named 14 students as 2018-19 Niblack Research Scholars, each receiving $8,000 scholarships and the opportunity to conduct research guided by faculty sponsors and graduate student mentors.

The Niblack Research Scholars program, administered through the OSU Office of the Vice President for Research, is a unique chance for undergraduates to take what they learn in the classroom and apply it to actual research projects. Often the experience changes a student’s career direction, as it did for Matthew Hart, a 2017-18 Niblack scholar who said he had little experience with science until coming to OSU.

“The thing I enjoy the most about research is the impact it has on people’s lives,” said Hart, who conducted research on nutrition and genetics. “I’m really most interested in things that translate to a clinical environment, that really have an impact on someone’s health. Being a Niblack scholar has been vital to putting me on my career path to do clinical research.”

The annual program is funded by OSU alumnus Dr. John Niblack and his wife, Heidi Niblack. As an undergraduate at OSU, Niblack said his research experience impacted the direction of his life. Niblack graduated from OSU in 1960 and, after graduate studies, conducted research and managed the development of many well-known pharmaceuticals for Pfizer Inc., the $34 billion global company. He was eventually named Pfizer vice chairman and, following retirement, founded the Niblack Research Scholarship to offer OSU undergraduates the same research opportunity he had. 

(front row): Jenna Borrelli, Olivia Davis, Sarah Soliman, Samantha Howe, Natasha Prentiss, Fatama Sornaly
(back row): Dr. John Niblack, Heidi Niblack, Carley Eastep, Katie Mueller, Adrienne Blakey,
Alice Chibnall, Christopher Jones, Devin Peck, Liam Whiteman,
OSU V. P. for Research Dr. Kenneth Sewell, OSU President Burns Hargis


2018-19 scholars, research areas and hometowns:

Adrienne Blakey, plant and soil science
Stillwater, Oklahoma
  Shelby Mohr, chemical engineering
Haslet, Texas
Jenna Borrelli, microbiology
Rockaway Beach, New York
  Katie Mueller, microbiology
Castle Pines, Colorado
Alice Chibnall, biochemistry and molecular biology
Frisco, Texas
  Devin Peck, chemistry
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Olivia Davis, biochemistry and molecular biology
Fort Smith, Arkansas
  Natasha Prentiss, natural resource ecology and management
Lawton, Oklahoma
Carley Eastep, chemical engineering
Jones, Oklahoma
  Sarah Soliman, physiological sciences
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Samantha Howe, animal science
Sulphur, Oklahoma
  Fatama Sornaly, chemical engineering
Owasso, Oklahoma
Christopher Jones, geology
Edmond, Oklahoma
  Liam Whiteman, entomology and plant pathology
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma